Current | Archive | Profile | Rings | Notes | Photographs | Contact | Diaryland | Design

May 24, 2003
4:06 a.m.

For Freaking Ever - Me And You, Us Crazy Cats Together

I don't care what my crabby grandma says.

I'm proud of you.

You stood up, and you stood alone.

And you made me cry.

I scanned forever amongst the grads waiting to find you. Thinking to myself, "and I thought I was gonna cry, pshh," and then I found you...and I was the only one up there singing that bawled, and my mouth wouldn't form the words as long as I watched you watching me. So I looked away, but I knew you were still looking. And when we finally stopped, I saw you mouth our word, "baaaaaaaabbbbbbyyyyyy." So naturally I mouthed back, "don't call me baby when I'm upset," but the last part didn't come out so well.

Thinking of leaving you makes me cry every time. Freshman year with Mrs. Hoffman. Vacations and broken promises. The many fights: from spats forgotten in minutes, to the 5 months we didn't speak, to our last big fight where I thought we'd never talk again. That was scary. I remember sitting at my computer trying to think of something clever to get you back without sounding desperate. But I was. I was. I am. And you can't forget our last could-a-been fight that we just let go of because we don't have much time left together. (that's the part that gets me)

No one will ever love Chi Chi's like you, and nasty Boston Market. Following Emo with In Da' Club, and always choosing boys over each other, when boys will never compare with what we have. I'm not sure what will. We don't always get along but we have this connection. Better than dial-up, or cable modem, we're like a T3, baby. We're not always there for each other, and we don't tell everything, and we fight a lot, and we disagree most of the time, but when your dad treats you like crap, damnit I hate him too, and when Mr. Thompson disrespects you, I consider postponing my diploma as well, and when Stephen broke my heart you were there for me at 4:00 in the morning. This is what marriage will be like, sharing feelings and stories, time, money, and most of all, always compromising, always sacrificing for each other. It's not about having everything in common. But we have that too.

I'd like to close with a quote that defines us as friends:

"A census taker once tried to test me. I ate his liver with some fava beans and a nice Chianti." -Dr. Lecter Hanibal

Me and you forever, love.




. :before: . | . :now: . | . :later: .